State and national results for Polk County (Election 2016)


While voters nationally appeared to favor Donald Trump for president by a narrow margin, locally voters turned out heavily in favor of the Republican nominee, according to vote totals available at press time.

In the hotly contested national race, Trump carried Polk County by a vote of 15,106 (76.3%) to Clinton’s 4,146. Other candidates and their local vote included Libertarian Gary Johnson, who garnered 361 votes and Green Party nominee Jill Stein, who received 82 Polk County votes.

With some votes left to be count, state-wide totals indicated Trump also carried Texas by a margin of about 4.3 million (52.2%) to about 3.6 million.

Nationally, Trump was narrowly edging Clinton at press time and was leading slightly in the popular vote and in the electoral college tally.

In other races on the Nov. 8 general election ballot, U.S. Rep. Brian Babin (R-Woodville) easily defeated Green Party challenger Hal J. Ridley the District 36 race by a vote of 137,053 (89.4%) to 16,327. In Polk County Babin received 15,337 votes (90.7%) compared to Ridley’s 1,575.

The Polk County vote in the statewide races, included:

Railroad Commissioner
Wayne Christian (REP): 13,803
Grady Yarbrough (DEM): 3,870
Mark Miller (LIB): 763
Martina Salinas (GRN): 279
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 3
Debra Lehrmann (REP): 13,985
Mike Westergren (DEM): 3,810
Kathie Glass (LIB): 672
Rodolfo Rivera Munoz (GRN): 221
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5
Paul Green (REP): 14,182
Dori Contreras Garza (DEM): 3,796
Tom Oxford (LIB): 484
Charles E. Waterbury (GRN): 232
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9
Eva Guzman (REP): 13,825
Savannah Robinson (DEM): 3,915
Don Fulton (LIB): 588
Jim Chisholm (GRN): 322
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2:
Mary Lou Keel (REP): 13,954
Lawrence “Larry” Meyers (DEM): 3,885
Mark Ash (LIB): 585
Adam King Blackwell Reposa (GRN): 173
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5:
Scott Walker (REP): 14,162
Betsy Johnson (DEM): 3,833
William Bryan Strange III (LIB): 430
Judith Sanders-Castro (GRN): 212
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6
Michael E. Keasler (REP): 13,946
Robert Burns (DEM): 3,952
Mark W. Bennett (LIB): 634
Member, State Board of Education, District 8
Barbara Cargill (REP): 15,069
State Representative, District 19
James White (REP): 15,416
Justice, 9th Court of Appeals District, Place 2:
Charles A. Kreger (REP): 14,855